











- 2. Premiership team members from 2006 who attended the lunch in their honour included Ben Hannant, David Stagg, Casey McGuire, Shaun Berrigan, Petero Civoniceva, Shane Perry 3. Kerrod Walters, John Dixon, Murray Stalley and Lote Tuqiri
- 4. Kodi Nikorima and Ben Hunt
- 5. Darryl Somerville, Bruno Cullen and Don Jackson 6. Steve Renouf and Ray Herring 7. Three generations of the Walker family attended — Shane, Gary, Sam and Ben Walker







BRONCOS OLD BOYS LUNCHEON 2016

At 10-year get-together Berro recalls his goals

ALTHOUGH ONLY SEVEN members of the 2006 NRL grand final winning team could attend, the annual Broncos Old Boys luncheon to celebrate the milestone was widely acclaimed as one of the best.

Almost 300 former players (BOBs) and members of the wider Broncos family attended the luncheon at the Broncos Leagues Club during the June bye weekend. And Justin Hodges, David Stagg, Shane Perry, Shaun Berrigan, Petero Civoniceva, Ben Hannant and Casey McGuire were the premiership winners from a decade ago who were able share to the unforgettable moment with their fellow guests.

But for Berrigan, who joined the club from school and made 186 NRL appearances for the club, winning on grand final day had been a long-held aspiration.

"As a kid still in school, I recall sitting in Cyril Connell's office upstairs here and writing down my goals," he revealed to an attentive audience.

"One was to win a grand final and the other was to win the Clive Churchill Medal as best on ground. Luckily that day I was able to do both."

Berrigan, who was also a member of the 2000 premiership team, was joined on stage by teammates Petero Civoniceva, Justin Hodges and Ben Hannant and interviewed by MC Ben Ikin, also a Broncos premiership winner form 2000. Another dual premiership winner, Lote Tuqiri, was another special guest interviewed.

A number of guests travelled long distance to attend the function, but none more so than former BOBs co-ordinator and ex-Broncos Football Manager, Bob Cutmore. He flew down from Port Moresby where he is General Manager of the PNG Rugby League.

The 2006 Broncos' grand final winning team was:

Justin Hodges, Darius Boyd, Brent Tate, David Stagg, Karmichael Hunt, Darren Lockyer (c), Shane Perry, Shane Webcke, Shaun Berrigan, Petero Civoniceva, Sam Thaiday, Brad Thorn, Tonie Carroll. Interchange: Corey Parker, Dane Carlaw, Ben Hannant, Casey McGuire. Coach: Wayne Bennett.